Translation: 144-Hour Visa-Free Transit Policy for Shanghai, Jiangsu, Zhejiang

CN-Eng translationHere is our law firms unofficial translation of the Ministry of Public Securitys announcement:



Shanghai, Jiangsu, Zhejiang Implement 144-Hour Visa-Free Transit Policy for Certain Nationalities

Effective Jan. 30.

2016-01-26Date: Jan. 26, 201613051144144The State Council has approved, effective January 30, a visa free policy at each public port in Shanghai, Nanjing (Jiangsu Province) airport, and Hangzhou (Zhejiang Province) airport. It will cover nationals holding international travel documents of any of 51 countries who have tickets for connecting flights with confirmed seats and departures times within 144 hours, departing for third countries (or regions). Foreigners in transit may choose to enter and depart through Shanghais sea, land, or air ports, or through the airport in Nanjing or Hangzhou. They may stay without a visa for 144 hours in Shanghai Municipality, Jiangsu Province, and Zhejiang Province. This policy is one of the exit and entry measures being implemented by the Ministry of Public Security to support the development of Shanghai as a center for science and innovation, becoming an influential, worldwide science and technology innovation center, and energizing civil aviation, travel, and economic development activities in the Yangtze River Delta.20137214472144As background, beginning in 2013, Shanghai, Hangzhou, and Nanjing in succession obtained approval for the 72-hour visa free transit policy. This new 144-hour visa free transit policy is the countrys first inter-provincial level transit visa policy, and it presents many advantages. The visa-free period has been prolonged from 72 to 144 hours, allowing foreigners in the Yangtze River Delta abundant time to engage in business activities, travel, and other activities. The policy promotes development of the incoming travel market. The types of ports where visa-free entry is allowed are increased, from one airport originally to now include Shanghais airports, sea ports, and rail ports, as well as Nanjing Lukou Airport (Jiangsu Province), Hangzhou Xiaoshan Airport (Zhejiang Province), making it more convenient for international transit travelers to choose from among more transportation options. The policy promotes the development of Shanghai as a shipping and aviation center, making the most of the three locations airports and international aviation routes. The policy increases the geographic area where visa-free entrants can stay, allowing persons meeting the policys requirements to move about within three province-level administrative areas in the Yangtze River Delta, including Shanghai, Jiangsu, and Zhejiang, thus meeting their needs and helping increase mobility of talent in the fields of science and technology innovation in the Yangtze River Delta, as well as developing the regions vigorous economy.1447251It is understood that the list of nationalities that can make use of the visa-free entry policy is based on the number of travelers and the international flight schedules in the three cities. For purposes of consistency, the list of 51 nationalities that can participate in the new 144-hour visa free transit policy will be the as under the existing 72-hour visa free transit policy: Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, The Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Russia, Great Britain, Ireland, Cyprus, Bulgaria, Romania, Ukraine, United States, Canada, Brazil, Mexico, Argentina, Chile, Australia, New Zealand, South Korea, Japan, Singapore, Brunei, United Arab Emirates, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Croatia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Montenegro, Macedonia, and Albania.